|
OULS Home
Libraries
Libraries by subject
College Libraries
Map of libraries
Map key
 
|
| |
|
| |
Magdalen College Library
Fellow Librarian: |
Dr Christine Ferdinand |
Assistant Librarian (Bibliographical Services): |
Mrs Hilary Pattison |
Assistant Librarian (Reader Services): |
Ms Verity Orme |
Archivist: |
Dr Robin Darwall-Smith |
Head Conservator: |
Ms Jane Eagan |
Library Assistant: |
Mrs Maggie Wainwright |
Note that opening hours may sometimes change at short notice. If travelling to visit a library you are advised to check with the library to confirm details.
Term time: |
The New Library is open 24 hours a day to Magdalen College members only.
The Old Library is open by appointment only. |
Vacation: |
The New Library is open 24 hours a day to Magdalen College members only. |
Closed: |
Never. |
Notes: |
FILMS! Members of the University who need to borrow Magdalen films for educational purposes may do so. Films may be borrowed overnight or over the weekend, with a £15 refundable deposit per film and production of a current university card. It is essential to phone or email in advance. All Magdalen films are recorded in OLIS. |
Note that by necessity these policies are much simplified and provided for initial guidance only. Please check with the library for full details.
OU undergraduate students: |
Admissions: some. Borrowing: some The New Library is open to Magdalen members only. However, any reader may make an appointment by phone, email, or real mail to consult a volume if Magdalen has the only copy in Oxford. Readers should check OLIS carefully in advance of any request.
Members of Magdalen College are the only readers allowed to borrow books from the New Library. |
OU postgraduate students: |
Admissions: some. Borrowing: some The New Library is open to Magdalen members only. However, any reader may make an appointment by phone, email, or real mail to consult a volume if Magdalen has the only copy in Oxford. Readers should check OLIS carefully in advance of any request.
Members of Magdalen College are the only readers allowed to borrow books from the New Library.
Postgraduates who need to use Magdalen's rare books and manuscripts collection are welcome to do so by appointment only. |
OU academic and research staff: |
Admissions: some. Borrowing: some The New Library is open to Magdalen members only. However, any reader may make an appointment by phone, email, or real mail to consult a volume is Magdalen has the only copy in Oxford. Readers should check OLIS carefully in advance of any request.
Members of Magdalen College are the only readers allowed to borrow books from the New Library.
Senior staff who need to use Magdalen's rare books and manuscripts collection are welcome to do so by appointment only. |
Others: |
Admissions: some. Borrowing: some The New Library is open to Magdalen members only. However, any reader may make an appointment by phone, email, or real mail to consult a volume if Magdalen has the only copy in Oxford. Readers should check OLIS carefully in advance of any request.
Members of Magdalen College are the only readers allowed to borrow books from the New Library.
Scholars who need to use Magdalen's rare books and manuscripts collection are welcome to do so by appointment. |
Magdalen's rare books collection is particularly strong in early medical and botanical books (collections given by John Goodyer and Nicholas Gibbard)..
This library is indexed under: .
The Magdalen College Library is a member of OLIS. We estimate that 85% of our holdings are on OLIS. This includes all current accessions since 1993. All the New Library working collections, the Daubeny Library, the McFarlane Library, the Law Library, as well as the pre-1800 foreign imprints and 18th-century English imprints in the Old Library are on OLIS. Some New Library storage books, some of the pre-1700 English imprints and most post-1800 imprints in the Old Library are not on OLIS. Library staff are gradually cataloguing the uncatalogued stock in the New Library storage area, as well as the remaining uncatalogued books in the rare books collection.
The OLIS catalogue uses shortened forms of library names to give details of an item's location. The following table lists these codes for the Magdalen College Library. Institution Code | Description | Magd. | Magdalen College Library | MAG | Magdalen College Library | Magdalen Coll | Magdalen College Library | Location Code | Description | MAG Chantry | Chantry Library (considered to be a separate library: Chantry Library) | MAG Daubeny | Daubeny Library | MAG Law Libr. | Law Library | MAG LtdAccess | Limited Access | MAG McFarlane | McFarlane Library | MAG New Libr. | New Library | MAG Old Libr. | Old Library |
|
| |
Oxford University
| University
Libraries
| Bodleian
Library
Accessibility Statement
© OULS 2005. Last revised:
10 Feb 2010
|
|