univ crest Oxford University Library Services   ouls crest
univ crest

 

OULS Home

Libraries

Libraries by subject

College Libraries

Map of libraries

Map key

 

   
 

Regent's Park College Library

Contact

Address:

Regent's Park College Library
Regent's Park College
Pusey Street
Oxford
OX1 2LB

Phone:

01865-288120

Fax:

01865-288121

E-mail:

emma.walsh@regents.ox.ac.uk

Website:

http://www.rpc.ox.ac.uk/

Library Staff

College Librarian:

Rev'd Emma Walsh

Assistant Librarian:

Mrs. Sheila D. Wood

Archivist:

Dr. Julian R. Lock

Opening Hours

Note that opening hours may sometimes change at short notice. If travelling to visit a library you are advised to check with the library to confirm details.

Term time:

Main Library: 24 hours, self-issue, to College members; staffed Mon.-Fri., 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Angus Library: 9.30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Vacation:

Main Library: 24 hours to College members; sometimes staffed Mon.-Fri., 9.a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Angus Library: 9.30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Closed:

Both libraries: approx. 1 week Christmas and Easter. Main Library: Closed 7th - 18th July 2008 for stocktake Angus Library: Closed 4th - 29th August 2008

Notes:

Main Library not normally accessible to non-College members: apply to the Librarian for special concessions to read items identified on OLIS as unique to Regent's Park College. Angus Library: available by appointment only: apply to College Librarian

Admission and Borrowing Policies

Note that by necessity these policies are much simplified and provided for initial guidance only. Please check with the library for full details.

OU undergraduate students:

Admissions: some. Borrowing: some

Main library: admissions to and borrowing by undergraduates of Regent's Park College only. Angus Library: by appointment, reference only. David Nicholls' Collection: by appointment, reference only

OU postgraduate students:

Admissions: some. Borrowing: some

Main Library: current Regent's Park College students only. Angus Library: others by appointment, reference only. David Nicholls' Collection: by appointment, reference only.

OU academic and research staff:

Admissions: some. Borrowing: some

Main Library: Regent's Park College staff only. Unique items for reference only on application to the College Librarian. Angus Library: by appointment, reference only. David Nicholls' Collection: by appointment, reference only.

Others:

Admissions: some. Borrowing: none

Main Library: none. Angus Library and David Nicholls' Collection: by appointment, with references, reference only.

Subjects Covered

The Main library includes the subjects studied by undergraduate and graduate students in the college. The Angus Library is a unique national library and archive for Baptist and non-conformist history and heritage. The David Nicholls' Collection covers church and state, philosophy, politics and theology, Latin American studies and Caribbean history and literature, particularly from Haiti. .

This library is indexed under: African Studies; Classics; Economic and Social History; English Language and Literature; Geography; History; Latin American Studies; Law; Modern Languages and Literatures; Oriental Studies; Philosophy; Politics; Theology.

OLIS Catalogue

The Regent's Park College Library is a member of OLIS. We estimate that 75% of our holdings are on OLIS. This includes all current accessions since 1997. 100% of the holdings in the Main Library (23,800) and the David Nicholls' Collection (3619) and an estimated 50% (18,468) of the holdings of the Angus Library, including 80% of the pre-1800 holdings and 15% of the 19th and 20th century holdings, are on OLIS. Approximately 20% of pre-1800 holdings, and an estimated 85% of 19th and 20th Century holdings in the Angus Library, as well as all periodicals are not on OLIS. Retrocon of the Main Library and the David Nicholls Collection was completed in 2001. RSLP projects have enabled the cataloguing of pre-1800 foreign titles and 3,400 19th Century pamphlets in the Angus Library. Further ESTC records should be added with corrected shelfmarks in due course. The remaining 19th and 20th Century holdings in the Angus Library are slowly being catalogued, but there are currently no plans for the cataloguing of periodicals in any of the libraries.

The OLIS catalogue uses shortened forms of library names to give details of an item's location. The following table lists these codes for the Regent's Park College Library.

Institution Code

Description

RegPrk

Regent's Park College Library

REG

Regent's Park College Library

Regent''s Park

Regent's Park College Library

Location Code

Description

REG Angus

Angus Library

REG BMS

Baptist Missionary Society collection

REG Main Libr

Main Library

REG Nicholls

David Nicholls Collection